We're building Workyard to give construction companies like yours a hassle-free way to capture accurate work hours, better manage labors costs, and make sure employees get paid what they deserve.

Accurate time cards and pay

Workyard is the easiest way for your employees to show proof of their hard work so you can pay them accurately and on time. Their location data helps you get that proof.

Only when on the clock

The most important thing to know is that when employees are clocked out or on a break, their location data is no longer shared with your company. To make sure all of this is transparent, let's talk a little more about how this works on their mobile phone.

In order for Workyard to generate time cards, the mobile phone requires you to enable "Always Allow" so Workyard has access to employee location data even when you're not using the app. We can see why the message you receive from Apple or Google to grant this permission would give you pause.

But let us share exactly what we do with your employee location data.

Even though Workyard has access to the location data from their phone the app never records that data or shares it with your company unless they're clocked in.

The reason Workyard requires the "Always" setting has everything to do with how the phone is designed. If you used the "While Using" setting instead of "Always Allow" your phone would require that the Workyard app stay open and your phone stays on at all times.

That's impossible.

For one, your employees are going to need to access different apps throughout the day. If you don't enable "Always Allow" the Workyard app will stop working every time you use a different app. This will result in hours worked not showing up properly on each time card.

The other reason it's impossible to leave an app running all day can best be explained through an example. If you've ever used a map app on your phone like Waze you'll know what that means to your battery life. Let's just say it's a drain.

While you're working, the "Always Allow" setting enables Workyard to run in the background in the phone's locked state without draining your battery and it frees you up to use all the other apps on your phone. As soon as your employee takes a break or clocks out Workyard stops recording and sharing their location data with your company.

Proof even when you forget to clock in

One of the biggest headaches with keeping track of your hours comes when your employees forget to clock in or out. It happens all the time. And when they do Workyard is going to provide the proof your company needs.

With Workyard your company can create projects using their locations. Workyard uses those locations to create geofences that recognize when employees arrive on the job site so the app can remind them to clock in. Even if they forget to clock in on arrival, when they eventually do Workyard will show the earlier time they arrived.

This GPS stamping helps prevent the back and forth manual work that often goes into getting the time cards right.

Workyard does not share their location or arrival time with your company until they physically clock in.

Did this answer your question?